REL Central Webinar Event: Practices for Raising Student Achievement in Rural Districts

Practices for Raising Student Achievement in Rural Districts

May 24, 2016

Time: 1:00 – 2:15 pm (Mountain)

2:00 – 3:15 pm (Central)

3:00 – 4:15 p.m. (Eastern)

Location: virtual

The REL Central Rural Education Research Alliance is hosting a webinar on May 24, 2016 regarding practices for raising student achievement in rural districts. Dr. Shelley Billig and Ms. Stephany Brown from REL Central will serve as facilitators. Dr. Matthew Irvin, Assistant Professor from the University of South Carolina, will share an overview of his work on the effective use of online learning in rural schools with a particular focus on the effective use of learner-centered principles from an experimental study on student retention in distance education courses in rural schools (Hannum, Irvin, Lei, & Farmer, 2008). Dr. Peggy Clements, Senior Researcher at the American Institutes of Research, will discuss findings from an experimental study on the effects on online mathematics courses for grade 8 students in rural schools in Maine and Vermont (Heppen, Walters, Clements, Faria, Tobey, Sorenson, & Culp, 2012). Implications for practice in rural schools and districts will be discussed and there will be opportunities to ask questions of the presenters.

To register for this event, click here

Menu